it’d make you better. 

a little over a year ago I started this daily photo taking challenge. I had to post a picture everyday for 365 straight days – a photo of something that made me feel happy that day. sometimes I waited until right before bed. other times I enjoyed something so much I could barely wait to post the photo. once in a while I was enjoying my day so much that I forgot to take a picture and had to cobble something together. at times the challenge was hard because there are some days that are just not awesome. but I made it. 

and then I couldn’t stop. I felt satisfied and proud with my commitment to the project, and I didn’t want it to end because it has become a reflection period for me – posting everyday. so I kept going. 

I started the project at a time when I was feeling a little lost in myself. and while I don’t think that one happy pic for everyday made me feel more grounded or anything that profound, I do feel like it helped me to gain some perspective and to establish some new roots. 

I’ve been thinking more and more about writing and trying to be more creative and I’m still not sure what that exactly means, but one idea I had this afternoon as the Decemberista blared from my Corolla’s sound system is that maybe I’ll try posting my Instagram pic (or sometimes it’s a video) here and expanding a bit on my reasoning for choosing that particular moment for the day. 

my moment today was driving to practice in the rain. I decided a few weeks ago threat I needed to use some of my vacation days and spend some town out of the office. it gave me a lot of time to think. and some time to catch up on the Gilmore Girls (in full disclosure mode here). I slept in a lot. I ran a bit. I baked. I hugged some people I’ve been wanting to hug for a while. and I focused on my coaching and the kids and the great rowing club I am a part of – a lot! 

I soooo needed that. while I thrive on being busy, I also need to compartmentalize sometimes. to break it down and get away. I know now that, all things considered with how awesome my summer was – next year I’m taking a damn vacation. seriously, like a long one. I dream of driving east, and possibly west. hopping from city to city – and staying with friends for a day or two along the way. 

that’s a long way off, but as I told someone I met recently, now that I’ve got the idea in my head, it’s only a matter of time before I make it happen. and I can’t wait. 

who knew this ‘little’ photo project I took on last August would turn out like it has. it’s a piece of me. and while it hasn’t made me profoundly better, I’m certainly no worse for the wear. finding my stride again – pounding the pavement and otherwise. 

Leave a Reply

